Interview with Rev. Billy Simmons of Evidence of a Struggle

Also owner of Rev Billy's Chop Shop, known as an inclusive, creative space, hosting new artists' work bimonthly and declared by Chicago Reader as the city's best gallery in 2019

Rev Billy Simmons began working with renowned sound engineer Sanford Parker (Voivod, Russian Circles, Yob, Eyehategod, Wovenhand, Darkthrone, Youth Code, Pelican) who helped produce, record and master the final versions of the songs in his 13- track eponymous album which was released in June 2023. The album is complemented by a multi-chapter audio-visual storybook, created by Chicago artist John Air, who has been involved with the project since the outset- creating videos, album covers and accompanying visuals for live performances.

Playlist For Saturday, July 29, 2023

  • Evidence of a Struggle- The First Fight
  • Evidence of a Struggle- WOFUF
  • Interview with Evidence Of A Struggle
  • Evidence of a Struggle- Bassakards
  • Evidence of a Struggle- Do’Oa
  • Evidence of a Struggle- Tensioned
  • Evidence of a Struggle- Twins
  • Evidence of a Struggle- Bisquee
  • Evidence of aStruggle- Keep It
  • Evidence of a Struggle- Casting
  • Nevaris- Remedy
  • Guitarmy  Of One- Soylent Seafood Green
  • Lusitanian Ghosts- The Long Train
  • The Noise Who Runs- Smile, Smile, Smile
  • Unit Code: Machine- Cold (Black Carburning Remix)
  • The Bleak Assembly- A Night Like This
  • Johnny Tupolev- Sunshine and Rain (Produced by John Fryer)
  • Unhappily Ever Now- Pleading (The Haunting of Scars) 
  • Vandal Moon- Sunlight (Antipole Remix)
  • The Wake- Everything (Featuring Wolfie)
  • October Burns Black- Shimmer 
  • Slighter- Pulling Me Under

Interview with Trent Jeffries of Plasmata

"Chicago Glampires" PLASMATA founded by frontman, TRENT JEFFRIES, teams up with Sisters of Mercy's Ben Christo and Aly Jados (Blood People)

Jeffries recalls when he suffered from a ruptured brain aneurysm  in 2012 that debilitated him. Now a near decade on, the band’s 2021 Portraits of Pain EP, produced by William Faith, deals with that process, while showcasing a dramatic and electrifying fusion of hard-hitting, dark alternative rock and metal, gothic rock, classic Chicago industrial rock, Hollywood glam and L.A. deathrock – all of it wrapped up in Plasmata’s distinctive theatrical “Glampire” aesthetic.

Playlist For Saturday, April 15, 2023

  • Plasmata- Luscious (Skum Mix)
  • Plasmata- LifeBlood (2020)
  • Interview with  Trent Jeffries
  • Plasmata- You call him the Devil (with Ben Christo and Aly Jados
  • Plasmata- Ten Bells with Aly Jados
  • Plasmata- Leviathan (William Faith Leviathaneurysm Remix)
  • Plasmata- The Vanishing
  • Plasmata- The Wait (Killing Joke)
  • Plasmata- Homage To The Black
  • The Bellwether Syndicate- Golden Age 
  • Blood Moon – Blood Moon Wedding, Part 1
  • CARVR- Bloom
  • Ruth Blake- Not Your Angel
  • Antipole with Paris Alexander- Perceptions
  • Beborn Beton- Burning Gasoline
  • Delerium- Sun Storm
  • The Noise Who Runs- Little Black Cloud
  • Ego Likeness- Live to Tell (Madonna)
  • Liset Alea with Nouvelle Vague – Athol Brose
  • Distance H- Reason to Rush, Featuring Liset Alea
  • The Flowers of Hell- Foray Through Keshakhtaran

Interview with Ian Pickering, Member and Songwriter of the Noise Who Runs and Sneaker Pimps

UK-France electronic duo, " The Noise Who Runs” released their full LP called "Preterertrospective."

The Noise Who Runs is the project of songwriter and performer Ian Pickering,best known as a member of and songwriter for the 90s British trip hop band Sneaker Pimps. He’s co-written the popular “6 Underground,”  “Spin Spin Sugar” and “Tesko Suicide” just to name a few. The current collaboration consist of Brazilian- born French guitarist, Felipe Goes.

Playlist For Saturday, April 8, 2023

  • The Noise Who Runs- These Will Be Your Gods
  • The Noise Who Runs- Little Black Cloud
  • Interview with Ian Pickering, Noise Who Runs
  • The Noise Who Runs- Beautiful Perhaps
  • Sneaker Pimps- 6 Underground
  • The Noise Who Runs- Takes A Long Cold Look And Then The Kitchen Sink
  • The Noise Who Runs-Under The Sun
  • Sneaker Pimps- Post Modern Sleaze
  • Vietnam- Whispers To Ignore 
  • The Flowers of Hell- Atmosphere (Joy Division)
  • Skeletal Family- All The Same To Me
  • Girls Under Glass- We Feel Alright 
  • Beborn Beton- I Watch My Life On TV
  • Antipole and Paris Alexander- Midnight Shadows
  • A Cloud Of Ravens- Parable
  • Lucy Kruger and The Lost Boys- Heaving 
  • Delerium, Featuring Kanga- In The Deep
  • The Bellwether Syndicate- Golden Age
  • Ego Likeness- Live To Tell (Madonna)

Interview with Martin Bowes (Attrition) and Jason Herring (The Mystery Plan)

Coventry, England’s dark electronic pioneers ATTRITION founded by Martin Bowes in 1980 will be releasing their latest album, The Black Maria later in 2023 which will feature the reunion of the original ATTRITION line up  for the first time in nearly 35 years with Martin Bowes, Ashley Niblock and Julia Niblock Waller.

The 8th full-length album by North Carolina’s The Mystery Plan is called “Haunted Organic Machines” released on 10mm Omega Recordings.  I spoke toJason Herring, one of the founders and producers (Along with Rob Tavaglione ) of the Charlotte-based collective that formed in 2010 initially as a duo (Jason Herring and Paul Jensen). Then Jason’s wife, Amy Herring joined the band. Several years later, the line-up grew with Otis Hughes, Patty McLaughlin Thomas and Jefferson Chester.

Playlist For Saturday, April 1, 2023

  • Attrition- The Switch  (Digital Murder Remix By Martine)
  • Attrition- The Alibi (Vaselyne Remix)
  • Interview with  Martin Bowes 0f Attrition
  • Attrition- The Switch, Featuring Julia Niblock Waller
  • Attrition- The Great Detailer
  • The Palace of Tears- Tears Of The Moon
  • Delerium, Featuring Mimi Page- Absolution
  • Skeletal Family- Edge Of A Dream
  • The Mystery Plan- What A Day (Disco)
  • Interview with Jason Herring of The Mystery Plan
  • The Mystery Plan- Big Bliss
  • The Mystery Plan- Inner Space

Author and Performing Artist Pleasant Gehman & Johannes Susitaival -Pennies By The Pound

Interview with Pleasant Gehman and Johannes Susitaival

Hollywood rock n’ roll icon, author and multi-disciplinary artist, professional dancer and musician Pleasant Gehman talked to me about her latest book  ”Rock ‘N’ Roll Witch: A Memoir of Sex, Magick, Drugs and Rock ‘N’ Roll.” 

“Pennies By The Pound” was formed by Frontman and songwriter Johannes Susitaival and Vesa Ranta in 2017 with the lineup expanded in the next few years by first Tomi Laaksonen and then Alexander Meaney, both musicians from previous projects.


Playlist For Saturday, March 25, 2023

  • The Screaming Sirens- Love Slave
  • Honk If Yer Horny- Gas, Grass Or Ass
  • Interview with  Pleasant Gehman
  • The Screaming Sirens- Rare and Daring 
  • Coyote Shivers and Pleasant Gehman- LockDown Love
  • Delerium, Featuring Kanga- In The Deep
  • Delerium, Featuring Inna Walters- Streetcar
  • Delerium, Featuring Mimi Page-Falling Back To You
  • Pennies By The Pound- Burning Wish
  • Interview with Pennies By The Pound
  • Pennies By The Pound- The End Times